Coverart for item
The Resource Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites, Kate Christensen

Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites, Kate Christensen

Label
Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites
Title
Blue plate special
Title remainder
an autobiography of my appetites
Statement of responsibility
Kate Christensen
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap
  • A mouthwatering literary memoir about an unusual upbringing and the long, winding path to happiness. For Christensen, food and eating have always been powerful connectors to self and world. In this passionate feast of a memoir she reflects upon her journey of innocence lost and wisdom gained, mistakes made and lessons learned, and hearts broken and mended. And food-- eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it-- becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1962-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Christensen, Kate
Dewey number
  • 818/.5403
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
  • PS3553.H716
  • TX649.C495
LC item number
  • Z46 2013
  • A3 2013
Literary form
non fiction
NLM call number
818.54 C554b
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Christensen, Kate
  • Food writers
  • Gourmets
  • Food
  • Cooking
  • Women authors, American
  • Authors, American
  • Mothers and daughters
  • Appetite
  • Food
Label
Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites, Kate Christensen
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Prologue -- Berkeley -- Wildermuth -- San Miguel -- Verde Valley and Spring Valley -- France -- Upstate, Oregon, Iowa -- New York -- Williamsburg and Greenpoint -- Monitor Street -- New England
Control code
ocn823860695
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
353 pages
Isbn
9780385536264
Lccn
2012048556
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)823860695
Label
Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites, Kate Christensen
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Prologue -- Berkeley -- Wildermuth -- San Miguel -- Verde Valley and Spring Valley -- France -- Upstate, Oregon, Iowa -- New York -- Williamsburg and Greenpoint -- Monitor Street -- New England
Control code
ocn823860695
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
353 pages
Isbn
9780385536264
Lccn
2012048556
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)823860695

Library Locations

    • Stevens Memorial Library (North Andover)Borrow it
      345 Main Street, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.6961299 -71.1263305
Processing Feedback ...