Coverart for item
The Resource Death notice : a novel, Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza

Death notice : a novel, Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza

Label
Death notice : a novel
Title
Death notice
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • chi
  • eng
Summary
"An elite police squad hunts a manipulative mastermind out to publicly execute criminals the law cannot reach. A wild thriller and deadly game of cat-and-mouse from one of China's most popular authors. For fans of Jo Nesbo, Se7en, and Hong Kong police cinema. The brutal murder of respected police officer Sergeant Zheng Haoming sends shockwaves through Chengdu, a modern metropolis in the heart of China's stunning Sichuan Province. He had been obsessed by an unsolved, eighteen-year-old murder case, until an entity calling themselves Eumenides (after the Greek goddess of vengeance and retribution) releases a terrifying manifesto. Is the manifesto a sick joke, or something more sinister? Soon, the public starts 'nominating' worthy targets for Eumenides to kill, and two days later, Sergeant Zheng is dead. Eumenides' cunning game is only getting started. The police receive a "death notice," a chilling note announcing the killer's next target, the crimes they have committed, and the date of their execution. The note is both a challenge and a taunt to the police. When the first victim dies in public, under their complete protection, the police are left stunned. More death notices are coming. The chase is on. Death Notice is an explosive, page-turning thriller filtered through a vibrant cultural lens. Zhou Haohui expertly adds an exhilarating new perspective to the twists and tropes of the genre all fans love, making for a uniquely propulsive and entertaining read"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1977-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Zhou, Haohui
Dewey number
895.13/6
Index
no index present
Language note
Originally published in Chinese as "Si wang tong zhi dan: an hei zhe" in 2014
LC call number
PL2978.H36
LC item number
S5 2018
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Haluza, Zac
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Police
  • Vigilantes
  • Executions and executioners
  • Retribution
  • Chengdu (China)
  • FICTION
  • Executions and executioners
  • Police
  • Retribution
  • Vigilantes
  • China
Label
Death notice : a novel, Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocm78552928
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
301 pages
Isbn
9780385543323
Lccn
2017048812
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o78552928
  • (OCoLC)78552928
Label
Death notice : a novel, Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocm78552928
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
301 pages
Isbn
9780385543323
Lccn
2017048812
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o78552928
  • (OCoLC)78552928

Library Locations

    • Stevens Memorial Library (North Andover)Borrow it
      345 Main Street, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.6961299 -71.1263305
Processing Feedback ...