Coverart for item
The Resource Maya Lin : thinking with her hands, Susan Rubin

Maya Lin : thinking with her hands, Susan Rubin

Label
Maya Lin : thinking with her hands
Title
Maya Lin
Title remainder
thinking with her hands
Statement of responsibility
Susan Rubin
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of DELICIOUS, WIDENESS & WONDER, and EVERYBODY PAINTS!, this is Susan Goldman Rubin's extensively researched and very accessible biography of civic activist Maya Lin, most famous for her design of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. The Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington, D.C., is one of the most famous pieces of civic architecture in the world. But most people are not as familiar with the reserved college student who entered and won the design competition to build it. This accessible biography tells the story of Maya Lin, from her struggle to stick with her vision of the memorial to the wide variety of works she has created since then. Illustrated extensively with photos and drawings, the carefully researched text crosses multiple interests--American history, civic activism, art history, and cultural diversity--and offers a timely celebration of the memorial's 35th anniversary, as well as contributing to the current, important discussion of the role of women and minorities in American society"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
individual biography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rubin, Susan Goldman
Dewey number
  • 720.92
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
NA737.L48
LC item number
R83 2017
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Lin, Maya
  • Architects
  • Chinese American architects
  • Artists
  • Chinese American artists
  • JUVENILE NONFICTION
  • JUVENILE NONFICTION
  • JUVENILE NONFICTION
  • Lin, Maya Ying
  • Architects
  • Artists
  • Chinese American architects
  • Chinese American artists
  • United States
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Maya Lin : thinking with her hands, Susan Rubin
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn966971172
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
1 volume (unpaged)
Isbn
9781452108377
Lccn
2016058584
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)966971172
Label
Maya Lin : thinking with her hands, Susan Rubin
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn966971172
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
1 volume (unpaged)
Isbn
9781452108377
Lccn
2016058584
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)966971172

Library Locations

    • Stevens Memorial Library (North Andover)Borrow it
      345 Main Street, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.6961299 -71.1263305
Processing Feedback ...