Coverart for item
The Resource One goal : a coach, a team, and the game that brought a divided town together, Amy Bass

One goal : a coach, a team, and the game that brought a divided town together, Amy Bass

Label
One goal : a coach, a team, and the game that brought a divided town together
Title
One goal
Title remainder
a coach, a team, and the game that brought a divided town together
Statement of responsibility
Amy Bass
Title variation
1 goal
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and Outcasts United, ONE GOAL tells the inspiring story of the soccer team in a town bristling with racial tension that united Somali refugees and multi-generation Mainers in their quest for state--and ultimately national--glory. When thousands of Somali refugees resettled in Lewiston, Maine, a struggling, overwhelmingly white town, longtime residents grew uneasy. Then the mayor wrote a letter asking Somalis to stop coming, which became a national story. While scandal threatened to subsume the town, its high school's soccer coach integrated Somali kids onto his team, and their passion began to heal old wounds. Taking readers behind the tumult of this controversial team--and onto the pitch where the teammates vied to become state champions and achieved a vital sense of understanding--ONE GOAL is a timely story about overcoming the prejudices that divide us"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bass, Amy
Dewey number
796.334/620974182
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • plates
Index
no index present
LC call number
GV944.U6
LC item number
B37 2018
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Lewiston High School (Lewiston, Me.)
  • Lewiston High School (Lewiston, Me.)
  • Lewiston High School (Lewiston, Me)
  • Soccer
  • Somalis
  • Race relations
  • Immigrants
  • Refugees
  • Lewiston (Me.)
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
  • SPORTS & RECREATION
  • Immigrants
  • Race relations
  • Refugees
  • Soccer
  • Social conditions
  • Somalis
  • Maine
  • Somalia
Label
One goal : a coach, a team, and the game that brought a divided town together, Amy Bass
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Why not us? -- We have to go back -- Welcome to vacationland -- Many and one -- I still say Somalia -- Grind mode -- I live my thank-you -- 1-2-3 Pamoja Ndugu -- Lewiston pure -- Saints, martyrs, and summer soccer -- Many nations, one team -- Inshallah, we got this -- Our house -- Straight red -- Do not retaliate -- Everyone bleeds blue -- Make it a good one
Control code
on1012640596
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xvi, 304 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9780316396547
Lccn
2017034578
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other control number
40027964097
Other physical details
color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1012640596
Label
One goal : a coach, a team, and the game that brought a divided town together, Amy Bass
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Why not us? -- We have to go back -- Welcome to vacationland -- Many and one -- I still say Somalia -- Grind mode -- I live my thank-you -- 1-2-3 Pamoja Ndugu -- Lewiston pure -- Saints, martyrs, and summer soccer -- Many nations, one team -- Inshallah, we got this -- Our house -- Straight red -- Do not retaliate -- Everyone bleeds blue -- Make it a good one
Control code
on1012640596
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xvi, 304 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9780316396547
Lccn
2017034578
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other control number
40027964097
Other physical details
color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1012640596

Library Locations

    • Stevens Memorial Library (North Andover)Borrow it
      345 Main Street, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.6961299 -71.1263305
Processing Feedback ...