Coverart for item
The Resource The burning island, Hester Young

The burning island, Hester Young

Label
The burning island
Title
The burning island
Statement of responsibility
Hester Young
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The newest haunting mystery from the beloved author of The Gates of Evangeline, featuring Charlie Cates, a headstrong heroine who must confront her unwanted supernatural gift and bring dark secrets to light if she ever wants to leave the Big Island. Journalist Charlie Cates has always believed in facts, in what can be proved--her career depends on it. Which is why she has never truly accepted the supernatural visions that guide her to children in danger. After her work on a high-profile missing-child case brings unwanted fame, she reluctantly flees to the lush Big Island of Hawaii with her best friend, Rae. Determined to avoid her disturbing visions, Charlie begins writing what seems to be a harmless interview of a prominent volcanologist, Victor Nakagawa. But her hopes for a peaceful vacation are soon dashed by haunting dreams of a local girl who went missing six weeks earlier. In the small and sleepy town of Kalo Valley, Charlie and Rae come to realize that even paradise has its ugly secrets, and the Nakagawa family is no exception. In order to find the missing teenager and stop a dangerous predator from striking again, Charlie is forced to embrace the gift she has always tried to conceal. Meanwhile, someone is watching her every move, and the closer Charlie gets to the truth, the more distant her chances of ever leaving the island alive. With a deliciously eerie and fast-paced story told in vivid prose, all with an overlay of supernatural suspense, The Burning Island is a pulse-pounding mystery perfect for fans of Jennifer McMahon and Kate Atkinson"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Young, Hester
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3625.O96435
LC item number
B87 2019
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • FICTION / Suspense
  • FICTION / Psychological
  • FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • Women journalists
  • Missing persons
  • Secrecy
  • Visions
  • Hawaii
Label
The burning island, Hester Young
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1033655427
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
404 pages
Isbn
9780399174025
Lccn
2018038078
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1033655427
Label
The burning island, Hester Young
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1033655427
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
404 pages
Isbn
9780399174025
Lccn
2018038078
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1033655427

Library Locations

    • Stevens Memorial Library (North Andover)Borrow it
      345 Main Street, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.6961299 -71.1263305
Processing Feedback ...