Coverart for item
The Resource The vineyard : a novel, María Dueñas ; translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza García

The vineyard : a novel, María Dueñas ; translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza García

Label
The vineyard : a novel
Title
The vineyard
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
María Dueñas ; translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza García
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • spa
  • eng
Summary
  • "New York Times bestselling author Maria Duenas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah. Mauro Larrea's fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the widow of a London wine merchant who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her family's legacy. Before long, Mauro finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory, propelling himself toward a future that he never could have imagined. From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, when the wine trade with England transformed the Andalusian city, Maria Duenas' new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, the sophistication of the Mexican capital, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion"--
  • Mauro Larrea, swamped by debt and uncertainty, gambles the last of his fortune in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard in Andalusia de Jerez in Spain. He has every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. Then he meets Soledad Montalvo, the widow of a London wine merchant, who bursts into his life determined to protect her family's legacy. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, Mauro seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory, propelling himself toward a future that he never could have imagined
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1964-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Dueñas, María
Dewey number
863/.7
Index
no index present
Language note
Translated from the Spanish
LC call number
PQ6704.U35
LC item number
T4613 2017
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Caistor, Nick
  • Garcia, Lorenza
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Interpersonal conflict
  • Vintners
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Interpersonal conflict
  • Vintners
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Wine and wine making
Label
The vineyard : a novel, María Dueñas ; translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza García
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Translated from the Spanish
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn975365465
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
534 pages
Isbn
9781501124532
Lccn
2017008697
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781501124532
  • (OCoLC)975365465
Label
The vineyard : a novel, María Dueñas ; translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza García
Publication
Note
Translated from the Spanish
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn975365465
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
534 pages
Isbn
9781501124532
Lccn
2017008697
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781501124532
  • (OCoLC)975365465

Library Locations

    • Stevens Memorial Library (North Andover)Borrow it
      345 Main Street, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.6961299 -71.1263305
Processing Feedback ...